Rhamondre Stevenson Named ‘Dark Horse’ for Award – Explained!

The New England Patriots have had some gamers step up throughout the 2022 common season and one participant is garnering nationwide consideration.

New England’s offense has had its struggles this season. The likes of Mac Jones, Damien Harris, DeVante Parker, and Tyquan Thornton have all handled accidents. With necessary gamers lacking time, the Patriots wanted different gamers to supply.

When it involves the operating recreation, Rhamondre Stevenson has been the star for New England. He has tallied 558 speeding yards and 4 touchdowns on the bottom together with 32 receptions for 217 yards per Pro Football Reference.

With how nicely he has performed, Stevenson has been named a “dark horse” to win the Offensive Player of the Year award. NFL analyst Alex Ballentine defined his reasoning for choosing Stevenson.

“The second-year back was stuck in a timeshare with Damien Harris in the first four weeks of the season,” wrote Ballentine. “He performed in 62 p.c or fewer of the snaps in each recreation because the Patriots acquired off to a 1-3 begin. Since then, he’s performed not less than 77 p.c of the snaps, is now seventh in whole scrimmage yards and the Patriots have gained three out of their final 4 video games. His skill to interrupt off huge runs even when the blocking in entrance of him is suboptimal is among the few issues the Patriots offense has going for it proper now. He was accountable for 143 of the unit’s 288 yards in opposition to the Jets in Week 8.

“Offensive Player of the Year typically goes to a player who carries his offense. Stevenson is quickly becoming that player for New England,” he concluded.

Who Is the Last Patriot to Win This Award?

It has been fairly a while since a New England participant gained the award. Tom Brady was the final Patriot to win the award in 2010.

Brady is definitely the one member of the Patriots group to have gained the award in New England. Larry Brown of the now Washington Commanders gained the primary Offensive Player of the Year award in 1972.

What Milestone Did Bill Belichick Reach in Week 8?

With the win over the New York Jets, Belichick claimed sole possession second place in all-time NFL wins by a head coach. After passing George Halas, Belichick is now solely behind Don Shula who has 12 extra wins than Belichick presently.

Belichick was extra involved in regards to the video games forward when requested in regards to the milestone however took the time to thank some former gamers.

“I’ll be able to talk about that when it’s over,” he mentioned. “We’ll add them up at the end. It’s good to come down here and win. I’m happy for our team and appreciate all the great players we’ve had who’ve won those games. We had a couple of them in the locker room besides our players. Guys like (Devin) McCourty and (Matthew) Slater, (Jerrod) Mayo, Troy Brown. Those guys won a lot of games for us, for me, so those are team wins.”

Patriots quarterback additionally opened his press convention with reward for his head coach.

“Just wanted to give a huge congratulations to (Head) Coach (Bill) Belichick,” Jones mentioned. “What an accomplishment, obviously he’s done a great job here, and it’s just a blessing to be able to play for him. We don’t do the whole individual awards, but that’s a big one and just to be his quarterback right now is a huge blessing.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.