Michael Neser Controversial Catch In BBL Sparked A Debate On The Laws Of Cricket – Explained!

Brisbane Heat registered a 15-run win over Sydney Sixers of their Big Bash League match on Sunday. Brisbane opted to bat first and posted a complete of 224/5 in 20 overs with the assistance of Nathan McSweeney’s 84. In return, Sydney have been bowled out for 209 as Michael Neser bought three wickets.

Apart from them, Mark Steketee, Matthew Kuhnman and Ross Whiteley took two wickets every. However, a really unlucky incident occurred through the match which raised many questions on the foundations of the gentleman’s recreation.

Michael Neser controversial catch in BBL sparked a debate on the Laws of Cricket

In the nineteenth over of Sydney’s innings, Jordan Silk performed an enormous shot in the direction of lengthy off on Steketee’s ball. Neser made an excellent effort to seize the ball and threw it away earlier than it crossed the boundary line. However, the ball was nonetheless exterior the boundary rope and Neser jumped once more and this time threw the ball again into the enjoying space earlier than going contained in the rope and taking the catch.

After some confusion, the umpire dominated in favor of Neser and Silk was declared out on 41. However, the umpire’s remarks didn’t go down nicely with the followers because it sparked a debate on the Laws of Cricket.

A fan commented, “I would tell all our fielders to stand behind the boundary line and jump when you catch it.”

Another fan commented, “So Neser could have stood there for 10 minutes leaping off the ground throwing the ball into the air! What a ridiculous interpretation of the rule!!”

“Out or not out. The rules need to be changed, Neser has used the ground outside the boundary to his advantage. Jumping/landing outside the boundary should be illegal and should be considered a six. Can’t use the thing.” Playground. This just isn’t “great fielding,” commented a fan.

Rule 19.4.2 beneath the MCC Laws of Cricket states, “The ball in play is deemed to be out of bounds if a fielder, as in 19.5, touches the ball out of bounds; A fielder, having caught the ball inside the boundary, lands exterior the boundary whereas nonetheless involved with the ball earlier than finishing the catch.

[Disclaimer: This story was automatically generated by a computer program and was not created or edited by Journalpur Staff. Publisher: Journalpur.com]

#Michael #Nesers #controversial #catch #BBL #sparked #debate #Laws #Cricket #watch

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*